• The leaders of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries have welcomed a proposal from the Saudi king for a Gulf Union.
  • Saudi king Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud, who is the current chairman of the GCC, had made the proposal at a session of the GCC supreme council in Riyadh.
  • Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC)
  • Created on 25 May 1981, the original Council comprised the 630-million-acre (2,500,000 km2) Persian Gulf states of the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Qatar and Kuwait. The unified economic agreement between the countries of the Gulf Cooperation Council was signed on 11 November 1981 in Abu Dhabi. These countries are often referred to as The GCC States.
  •  Objectives

  • formulating similar regulations in various fields such as economy, finance, trade, customs, tourism, legislation, and administration;
  • fostering scientific and technical progress in industry, mining, agriculture, water and animal resources;
  • establishing scientific research centers;
  • setting up joint ventures;
  • unified military presence (Peninsula Shield Force)
  • encouraging cooperation of the private sector;
  • strengthening ties between their peoples; and
  • establishing a common currency by 2010;