1.Jnanpith Award 2009 and 2010 announced : Eminent Hindi authors Mr. Amar Kant and Mr. Shrilal Shukla were chosen for India’s highest literary honour Jnanpith Award for the year 2009, while renowned Kannada writer Mr. Chandrashekar Kambar won it for the year 2010. The selection board chaired by noted writer and Jnanpith Award winner Dr. Sitakant Mahapatra made the selections for the 45th and 46th Jnanpith Awards.
86-year-old Kant is a leading author whose famous novel Inbin Hathiyaron Se earned him Sahitya Akademi Award in 2007. His short stories like Hatyare, Dopahar Ka Bhojan and Diptee Kalaktari have found place in the syllabi of several Indian Universities. Mr. Shukla, born in 1925 in Uttar Pradesh, is an eminent novelist and a satirist whose works threw light on the falling moral values of the Indian society in the post Independence era. His noted works include Raag Darbari, Makaan, Sooni Ghaati Ka Sooraj, Pehla Padaav, Agyatvas, and Bisrampur Ka Sant. He is winner of several awards which included Sahitya Akademi Award and Vyas Sammaan. In 2008, he was awarded the Padma Bhushan for his contribution to Indian literature and culture. 74-year-old Kambar, who won the Jnanpith for the year 2010, is a novelist and playwright.

2.Eleven scientists selected for Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award : Eleven scientists have been selected for the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology this year. The award was announced by director general of Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), Mr. Samir Brahmachari, at the foundation day celebration of CSIR at Vigyan Bhavan on September 27, 2011. It will be given away by the Prime Minister later.
The award for Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences category went to Mr. Shankar Doraiswamy of National Institute of Oceanography, Goa, In the Engineering Sciences category, Mr. Sirshendu De of IIT-Kharagpur and Mr. Upadrasta Ramamurty of Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore, were nominated for the award. Mr. Mahan Maharaj of Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda University, Howrah and Mr. Palash Sarkar of Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata were picked for the award in Mathematical Sciences category. In the Medical Sciences category,  Mr. Kithiganahalli N. Balaji of IISc, Bangalore, was nominated while the award for Physical Sciences category went to Shiraz Minwalla of Tata of Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai.

3.Dadasaheb Phalke Award : Mr. K. Balachander, doyen of Tamil cinema, was honoured with the Dadasaheb Phalke Award by Hon’ble President Ms. Pratibha Patil at the National Film Awards 2010 ceremony at Vigyan Bhawan on September 9, 2011. A frail but spirited-looking Mr. Balachander, who walked up to the podium to collect the highest award in cinema, received a standing ovation from the gathering. Describing Mr. Balachander as a film-maker of distinction, Ms. Patil said that he has made mainstream films with an artistic sensibility that has touched upon social, political and middle class issues.

4.IGNOU award : Indira Gandhi National Open University honoured the Azim Premji Foundation with the Rajiv Gandhi International Prize for Technology in Education and Development on September 28, 2011 for its significant contributions to education, particularly to educational technology, in developing countries across the world.

5.First Hridayanath Award goes to Lata Mangeshkar : Bollywood super star Mr. Amithabh Bachan presented the first Hridayanath Award  to Ms. Lata Mangeshkar on her 82nd birthday in Mumbai on September 28, 2011.

6.Indian Football Awards : East Bengal’s Mehtab Hussain won a double at the Indian Football Players Association of India, in a glitzy ceremony in Kolkata on September 26, 2011. The midfielder won the Best Indian Player Award and also the Fans Player of the Year Award through online voting. Mehtab was instrumental in East Bengal’s stupendous success last season in which the club won the Federation Cup, local league and finished runner-up in the I-League.
The other awardees were as follows : Best Foreign Player: Roberto ‘Beto’ Mendes Silva (Dempo SC); Best Coach: Karim Benchirifa (Salgocar SC); Best Young Player: Jeje Lalpekhula (Pune FC) ; Fans Player of Asian Cup (online voting): Subrata Paul (Pune FC); Fans Player of the Year (online voting): Mehtab Hussain (East Bengal).


1.Angolan beauty crowned Miss Universe : Angola’s Ms. Leila Lopes became the new Miss Universe, edging out beauties from from Ukraine, Brazil, Philippines and China as the Miss Universe beauty pageant marked its 60th anniversary on September 15, 2011. Ninety-eight young women took part in the contest – in South America’s largest city, Brazil’s industrial hub of Sao Paulo – watched by an estimated one billion people around the world.

2.ICC Awards: The Indian skipper M.S. Dhoni won the ‘Spirit of Cricket Award ‘ at the annual International Cricket Council (ICC) Awards function in London on September 12, 2011. Meanwhile, West Indies leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo was chosen the ICC Emerging player of the year award and Aleem Dar was again chosen as the ICC Umpire of the year.
Other awardees were: LG People’s Choice Award: Kumar Sanghakara.
ICC Associate Cricketer : Ryan ten Doeschate.
ICC T20 Performance of the Year : Tim Southee.