• Sachin Tendulkar capped a fine year with the most coveted cricketing reward in recent times ˜The Sir Garfield Sobers Cricketer of the Year’ Award as the maestro glittered bright amidst a galaxy of leading players at the LG ICC Awards night. Tendulkar became the second Indian to win the award after Rahul Dravid bagged it in 2004.
  • After scoring 1,000 Test runs this year besides becoming the first man to score a double hundred in ODI cricket while South Africa wilted against him at Gwalior, Tendulkar scored another double at the awards function as he also won the ˜LG People’s Choice Award.’