• Eight Nobel laureates are taking part in the 99th Science Congress, which began in Bhubaneswar 
  • Nobel laureate Rolf M Zinkernagel delivered a public lecture on the first day of the conference.
1.Prof Rolf M Zinkernagel
  • The recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (1996), Zinkernagel is a professor of experimental immunology at the University of Zurich. He shared the
  • Nobel with Australian academic Peter C Doherty for the discovery of how the immune system recognizes virus-infected cells. Zinkernagel holds an MD degree from the University of Basel and received PhD from the Australian National University in 1975.
2.Prof Richard R. Ernst
  • This Swiss scientist received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1991) for his contributions to the
  • Development  of the methodology of Fourier Transform nuclear magnetic resonance
  • (NMR) spectroscopy. Born in 1933 in Winterthur, Switzerland, Prof Ernst has an "insatiable love for Asian art." His interest is directed towards the religious art of Tibetan scroll paintings. Prof Ernst will deliver a public lecture on 'Academic Opportunities for Shaping a Better Future' at the ISC .
3.Dr Amartya Sen
  • Recipient of Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences (1998), this 1933-born Indian economist was recognized for his contributions to welfare economics and for his interest in the problems of society's poorest
4. Prof Kurt Wuthrich
  • Recipient of Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2002), Kurt Wuthrich is a Swiss chemical scientist. He was born in 1938, and went to the University of Berne.
5. Muhammad Yunus
  • Yunus is the only Bangladeshi to win the prestigious award. Recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize(2006), this Bangladeshi economist is the founder of the microcredit organization, The Grameen Bank. Born in 1940, Yunus was recognized by the Nobel committee for his efforts to facilitate economic and social development.
6. Carolyn W Greider
  • This 1961-born American molecular biologist received the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 2009. Greider shared the award with Elizabeth Blackburn and Jack Szostak for their discovery that telomeres are protected from progressive shortening by the enzyme telomerase.
7. Dale T. Mortensen
  • This American academic won the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences in 2010. Born in 1939, Mortensen did his BA in economics from Willamette University and PhD in Economics fromCarnegie Mellon University.
8. Sir Robert G. Edwards
  • This British physiologist, who won the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 2010, is a pioneer in reproductive medicine and in-vitro fertilisation (IVF).