• Six researchers from five science streams were honoured with the Infosys Prize-2011 by the former President, A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, here on Monday.
  • The prize, into its third year, carries a cash component of Rs. 50 lakh, a gold medallion and a citation.
  • The prize winners are:
  • Kalyanmoy Deb, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology-Kanpur (engineering and computer science);
  • Imran Siddiqi, scientist, Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology, Hyderabad (life sciences);
  • Kannan Soundarajan, director, Mathematics Research Centre, Stanford University, U.S. (mathematical sciences);
  • Sriram Ramaswamy, Professor, Centre for Condensed Matter Theory, Indian Institute of Sciences–Bangalore (physical sciences);
  • Raghuram G. Rajan, Charles M. Harper Faculty Fellow at the University of Chicago's Booth School of Business (social sciences-economics); 
  • Pratap Bhanu Mehta, president and chief executive of the Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi (social sciences-political science and international relations).