• The Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh today constituted an expert committee to examine issues related to decontrol of the sugar sector.
  • The committee will be headed by the Economic Advisory Council Chairman to the Prime Minister, Mr. C. Rangarajan.
  • According to an official statement, the committee will look into all the issues relating to de-regulation of the sugar sector and it has been requested to complete its task as early as possible and give its recommendations to the Prime Minister. 
  • The committee has been empowered to involve experts, academics as required as special invitees. The Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution have been asked to provide the necessary support to the committee.
  • The other members of the committee include Kaushik Basu, Chief Economic Adviser to the Ministry of Finance and secretaries to the Department of Food and Agriculture.