• Government has approved the setting up of separate High Courts for Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya.  

  • A meeting of the Union Cabinet, chaired by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, gave its approval to the proposal to amend the North-Eastern Areas Reorganization Act, 1971, to set up the separate High Courts in Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya.

  • all the northeastern states come under the jurisdiction of the Gauhati High Court. 

  • Sikkim has a separate High Court.

  • The Prime Minister had, during his visit to Imphal last weekend, inaugurated the newly constructed building of the Manipur High Court.